Eating Habits: I’m Going Dairy-Free!

Folks, you’ve read it here first. I’m going dairy-free. I’m giving up the goodness and saturated fats of cheese, butter, yogurt, milk, cream cheese, and the delicious, but dangerous desserts that I enjoy. I’m not going vegan, I am keeping fish and eggs in my diet, but I improving my health, while reducing my carbon footprint.

For the past several weeks, I have toyed with the idea of going vegan for the sake of my skin, physical health, and mental health. I have noticed over the past years, specifically since I turned 16, that my lactose tolerance has decreased. This is actually quite normal.

Studies have shown that around 80%-90% of adults have a decrease in their lactose tolerance, many being completely lactose intolerant. I get awful cramps and bloat after I have too much dairy. A cheese danish doesn’t kill me, but having yogurt, and a bagel with cream cheese, on top of that cheese danish, that really does it for me.

In cutting out dairy products, I will be getting rid of unnecessary calories and saturated fats that do absolutely nothing for my body–well, except allow me to put on more weight, which is not a positive for me. As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve started working out in order to be physically and mentally well. Part of getting results is not just going to the gym, but also being aware of what you feed your body. I absolutely love cheese, but I know that brie and goat cheese aren’t helping me out.

I got the final push from an anthropology book that I recently read, Good to Eat: Riddles of Food and Culture by Marvin Harris. This book is fantastic if you are interested in learning why certain groups of people eat the way they do. And, of course, from watching the documentary What The Health, which I recently wrote a review for.

Currently, I am on day 3 of my dairy-free diet. I have not had any cramps for the past three days and that is a physical and emotional relief. I’ve also avoided sugary pastries and have saved money. These are all positives.

Lastly, why didn’t I just decide to go vegan? I do not want to. If you think that going vegan is right for you–go for it. If going vegetarian or pescaterian is right for you–go for it. The point is you have complete freewill to choose what you want to eat, how you want to minimize your own carbon footprint, and how you want to decrease your consumption in all aspects of your life. Feel empower to make the choice that will work for you.

For now, going dairy-free works for me.

 

–Ecorealista

Leave a Reply

